The Awkward I love you

I won a round of “Never have I ever” by saying “Never have I ever said “I love you” to my mom. All I got was “What?! Really?” And then they shut up and drank.

I guess it really depends, but that’s how it works in my family since I grew up… We never explicitly said “I love you” to express our love to each other. It sounds natural to say “Bye mom. Love you” in English, but in Chinese it is weird.

Never have I ever done anything to celebrate Father’s and Mother’s Day with my parents also. I decided to change this!

DSC_1360
Green tea mousse cake making with Mom for Dad

 

Yesterday was my mom’s birthday.  I really haven’t bought her any birthday gifts before. I guess a birthday meal isn’t too bad for my first gift!

DSC_1369
Home-made pork ramen

 

DSC_1370

Ice-cream cake for my mom’s birthday

 

DSC_1372

Love you, Mom and Dad

Leave a Reply

